Doing too much

November 13, 2008 at 9:43 pm Leave a comment

Two major lessons from today’s lessons:

  1. I think I need to work on my ‘stage presence’, or whatever it is that you need to get 29 6-year-olds to listen to you in the gym hall. I feel confident working with individuals and small groups, but commanding the attention of the whole class needs some work. This is most noticeable in the gymn hall and other unstructured spaces. I might try some acting classes! A few more hours sleep might help too (compressing my planning time is also on the to-do list).
  2. Reflecting on this morning’s poetry lesson, I realised I had actually planned two lessons instead of one. Either one on its own would have been fine. But today I think I stressed the children with too much content and not enough time for action learning. And they in turn (quite rightly) stressed me! In the end, we repaired it by giving them more time in the afternoon, and many were very pleased with their poems. I’m still trying to find the right level, pacing and timing with this class. Next week, I think I will plan to do less, but do it better.

My head is spinning, bring on the weekend…

Entry filed under: CPD, organisation & management.

Routines and strict Miss Doodle… Duggle… Dmmmh I think I need some Critical Skills

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

del.icio.us

my flickr


