“Sit still and be quiet”

January 16, 2009 at 10:03 pm Leave a comment

I spent last week writing an assignment on child development, which – apart from wishing I was still lolling around doing nothing or meeting friends – I really enjoyed. In what I now recognise as my usual style, I started off being too ambitious with what I would cover, wrote far too much and then spent a long time cutting and tweaking. These are probably not characteristics that will serve me well as a qualified teacher. However, the point is, I chose to focus on physical development because I knew less about this than cognitive or social development – we had to choose one and I thought I’d learn more by choosing the one I don’t know. In a doubtless naive and under-read way, I tried to make a case for the interconnectedness of all three, and the underlying importance of movement and perception in learning.

This week, I find brilliant a video on the TED website of Ken Robinson. This is what I was trying to say:

Ken Robinson says schools kill creativity

Entry filed under: pedagogy. Tags: .

Wii-hab Careful what you wish for

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

del.icio.us

my flickr


