Getting organised

June 2, 2009 at 5:40 pm Leave a comment

Exciting times – I should be working on my presentation but can’t stop thinking about next year and having my own class. I have some jumbled thoughts on organisational points, which I’m throwing down here in an attempt to clear my head and get on with what I should be doing…

Things I would like to try next year:

  1. Personal project – simmering extension activity on subject of child’s choosing.
  2. Highland Literacy Project approach to literacy (or similar – need to find out school’s approach).
  3. Soft starts – thinking skills activities, or task related to day’s learning (challenge will be to keep coming up with these, could perhaps rotate from a menu).
  4. Personal sketch books – children to use to try out different techniques and materials and plan their artwork. Can use as extension activity, but also give time in art lessons.
  5. Reward system based on learning behaviour – I want to reward effort more than “getting the right answer”. Again this depends on the school’s system, but could include earning extra break or Golden Time for prompt settling down to listen or work? Also ‘Secret worker/walker/…’ – randomly chosen names monitored and rewarded or given advice on their behaviour at a particular time.
  6. Visual feedback on learning behaviour, eg a noise level chart as suggested by Bill Rogers, or ‘beat the creature’ as suggested on this page of classroom management tips. Actually, there’s loads on this page I want to do – will spend another day going through and prioritising – I’m guessing it’s not a good idea to try to do everything at once?!
  7. Learning logs and focus on skills of self-evaluation.

All of this needs more thought, but if I don’t get this presentation done I won’t be allowed to try any of it…

Entry filed under: organisation & management.

Managing mental maths Getting organised – part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

del.icio.us

my flickr


